Climate Action Towns funded for a second year

A hiker looks down at Glencoe Town from a distance.
Published: 24/06/2022

Seven small Scottish towns will continue to receive support to take place-based climate action, after the project was funded for a second year.

Our Climate Action Towns project has had year two funding confirmed from the Scottish Government’s Energy and Climate Change Directorate. This will allow us to continue working with local communities to support place-based climate action in a network of seven small Scottish towns.

Speaking about the funding award, Cabinet Secretary for Net Zero, Energy and Transport Mr Michael Matheson MSP said:

“I welcome the progress that’s been made to date across the seven climate action towns. The feedback from those involved in the towns evidences that this initiative has raised the awareness and understanding of local people, increasing the confidence and ability of those living in the towns to identify local solutions and take action. This is a strong foundation as the work moves into its next phase in year two.”

Two more towns to become Climate Action Towns

Reflecting the success of the work so far, we have two new towns joining the project. The additional two towns will be identified using the same data-driven approach as the original seven, this time with a focus on areas with high levels of child poverty.

The towns currently involved in the Climate Action Towns project are:

  • Highlands - Invergordon and Alness
  • West Lothian - Blackburn
  • Argyll & Bute - Campbeltown
  • North Ayrshire - Stevenston
  • North Lanarkshire - Holytown
  • Dumfries & Galloway - Annan

Header image credit: Spencer Eccles Jones on Unsplash

Get involved in Climate Action Towns

If you live or work in any of the seven Climate Action Towns and would like to learn more, please get in touch here to register your interest.

Contact us